## **MINUTES**

## Lambeth Liberal Democrats Annual General Meeting held on 20 November 2022 via Zoom

Present	Fareed Alderechi	Ben Austin	Simon Benfield	Robert Blackie
	Hina Bokhari (guest)	Duncan Brack	James Brandreth	Matthew Bryant
	Doug Buist	Tim Clement-Jones	Ben Curtice	Terence Curtis
	Nicholas Davidson	Robert Doyle	Dimon Drage	Audrey Eager
	Christopher French	Anthony Gilmour	Jackie Harper-Wray	Donna Harris
	Jaqueline Harris Baker	Alex Haylett	Andrew Horsler	Robert Huber
	Eloka Ikegbunam	Jan Kamieniecki	Donal Kane	Paul Kohler (guest)
	Sarah Lewis	Claire Mathys	John Medway	Oliver Moule
	Robert Rice	Abbi Salmi	Peter Truesdale	Monica Whyte
	Joseph Wright			
Apologies	Malcolm Baines	Vivienne Baines	Alex Davies	Charley Hasted
	Colin Penning	Ben Russell		

Topic	Narrative	
Apologies & Quorum	The Secretary Robert Huber reads out the apologies and declares the AGM quorate is accordance with the constitution.	
Approve minutes of 2021 AGM	The minutes of last year's AGM had been made available to members with the notice calling the AGM. The AGM approves last year's minutes.	
Chair's Report	<ul> <li>The Chair Sarah Lewis delivers the Chair's 2022 Report, highlights of which include:</li> <li>we re-entered Lambeth Council as official leader of the opposition</li> <li>the importance of learning lessons from by-elections and being prepared for them</li> <li>the need to respond to changing demographics and housing tenure</li> <li>the bureaucracy underlying efforts to stand a full slate of candidates at council elections</li> </ul>	

report on preparations for future Westminster and GLA elections, given the likelihood of boundary changes for parliamentary constituencies as of 15th November we have 672 active members. This compares with 760 active members on 12th January. Additionally, we have sustained a relatively stable 175 active registered supporters other activities in 2022 include the agreement of a diversity and inclusion statement, the transition to a new set of digital tools, ongoing fundraising and Lambeth representation at regional and national conferences and officers' meetings. a note of thanks to a range of members and supporters for their hard work during 2022. Treasurer's The AGM receives a report from the Treasurer Jan Kamieniecki on the local party's report finances, including an outline report for 2023. The AGM approves the accounts. The AGM approves the appointment of Andrew Thurburn as external examiner for the accounts. **Report from** The Chair reports from the Spring Conference and the London Region AGM. The the regional national Autumn Conference was cancelled following the death of Her Majesty the and spring conferences Policy areas discussed at the Spring Conference included rebuilding trade and cooperation with Europe, Ukraine, the cost of living crisis, COP15 and COP27; and a vote for federal Board reform. The Leader of the Lib Dem Council Group Donna Harris gives a summarised Report from the LD experience account of the new LibDem group on Lambeth council, including the council challenges faced by a relatively small group new to the council. Donna requests help from members who can contribute with specialist knowledge for any of the 11 group committees that the council group is represented in (shared with AGM). New In the notice calling the AGM members were provided with a copy of the Lambeth Lib constitution Dem version of the new model constitution for local parties in England, effective as of 1 January 2023, and as approved by the Executive Committee and as submitted to London Region. Members were asked in the notice to contact the Secretary ahead of the AGM with any questions on the constitution. The Secretary has not received any questions on the constitution. The AGM votes unanimously to approve the new constitution (via zoom polling function). **Motions** Members were invited in October to submit motions. The Secretary declares that he did not receive any motions. **Elections of** Peter Truesdale is acting as the Returning Officer, and confirms that all nominations the 2023 on the electronic ballot paper had a proposer and a seconder. **Executive** The candidates are presented to the AGM via electronic ballot paper (zoom polling). Committee The AGM votes with large majorities for each candidate individually as follows: Sarah Lewis - Chair Doug Buist - Vice Chair Jackie Harper-Wray - Treasurer Ben Austin - Elections Officer Christopher French - Membership Development Officer Jaqueline Harris Baker - Diversity Champion Robert Huber - Secretary

Fareed Alderechi - Ordinary Member
Alex Davies - Ordinary Member
Charley Hasted - Ordinary Member
Tobias Eloka Ikegbunam - Ordinary Member
Donal Kane - Ordinary Member
Claire Mathys - Ordinary Member
Abbi Salmi - Ordinary Member
Monica Whyte - Ordinary Member
Joseph Wright - Ordinary Member

The official agenda of AGM was followed by a discussion with members on "How to Win Elections"; led by Councillor Paul Kohler, Prospective Parliamentary Candidate for Wimbledon as our guest together with Lambeth member Simon Drage, Deputy Head of Campaigns at LibDem HQ and architect of our Tiverton and Honiton by-election victory in June.